Toll-Free Numbers

      Call me back Live Support
Free «Informative Speech» Essay Sample


This is a speech about the Seven Wonders of the World. When these wonders are mentioned, our attentions are taken back to constructions completed before the birth of Jesus Christ. These are extraordinary creations of ancient times. The locations of these Seven Wonders of the World is mainly a long the Mediterranean edge. The classification of them is back dated to the era of Rome and Greece. The Greece chose the integer seven because they believed it represent flawlessness and plenty. The modern has come up with new wonders though not yet accepted worldwide as the Seven Wonders of the World. The Seven Wonders of the World include Great Pyramid of Giza which found in Egypt , Hanging Gardens of Babylon/semiramis, Temple of Artemis at Ephesus, Mausoleum of Maussollos at Halicarnassus, Statue of Zeus at Olympia, Colossus of Rhode, and Lighthouse of Alexandria (Krystek).

The Giza pyramid, which is known as Great Pyramid, is the most prehistoric and largest among the three pyramids in Giza. It is the oldest of wonders and the only one that has survived many centuries. This pyramid was set up around 2560 BC. It has remained the highest artificial construction of the earth. The pyramid is made up of three chambers; the base, middle and, top. In Egypt, it is the only pyramid known to be having upward and downward means of access (Romer, 157).



    Preparing Orders



    Active Writers



    Positive Feedback



    Support Agents


Title of your paper ?
Type of assignment ?
Number of pages ?
Academic level ?
Timeframes ?
Spacing ?
Currency ?
  • Total price
Continue to order

The Hanging Gardens of Babylon are stated to be one of the original wonders. Sometimes they are referred to as Hanging Gardens of Semiramis. They were allegedly erected by the Babylonian king Nebuchadnezzar II approximately 600 BC. Unfortunately, numerous earthquakes demolished the gardens after the second century BC. The Greek historians (Foster) extensively record these gardens' existence. The Greek sculptor Phidias constructed the Statue of Zeus at Olympia around 432 BC. It is 43 feet tall and occupies half of the sanctuary built to house it. It was made of ivory and gold laminated bronze (Gisela, 166).

The Temple of Artemis was a holy place devoted to an idol by the Greeks. Before its final destruction, it was reconstructed three times. The building of this Temple started around 550 BC; by Cretan architect called Chersiphron with the help of his son Metagenes. The work took one hundred and twenty years only to be demolished by well-known Herostratus. It was reconstructed to become one of the wonders.

The Mausoleum at Halicarnassus sometimes referred to as Tomb of Mausolus was a burial place constructed between 353-350 BC at Halicarnassus for Mausolus, a satrap of Persian kingdom, and Artemisia II of Caria, his spouse and sister (Lethaby). The Colossus of Rhodes was a sculpture of the Greek idol called Helios, put up in the city of Rhodes on an island in Greek around 292 and 289 BC. Its construction was a form of celebration of Rhodes conquest over the leader of Cyprus. Before its demolition, it was one of the tallest statues of the olden world; thirty meters high.

The Lighthouse of Alexandria also referred to as Pharos of Alexandria, was a tower constructed around 280 and 247 BC in Egypt on the island of Alexandria. It stood 120 - 140 meters tall and became among the tallest artificial constructions on earth.


These Seven Wonders of the World are often classified as the prehistoric wonders. This is because there are modern constructions that defer their existence. However, because of the pioneer ideologies they are regarded as the Seven Wonders of the World. Currently there is existence of authorized new Seven Wonders of the World. The subject of the Seven Wonders of the World is currently divided; the ancient and the new.


What Our Customers Say

Click here to chat with us